Delete a Pipeline
Learn how to delete a pipeline using the pachctl delete command.
March 23, 2023
You can delete a pipeline by running:
pachctl delete pipeline <pipeline_name>
To delete all of your pipelines (be careful with this feature), use the additional
When you delete a pipeline:
- Kubernetes deletes all resources associated with the pipeline - pods (if any), services, and replication controllers.
- Pachyderm deletes the user output repository with all its data as well as the system
spec(historical versions of the pipeline specification file) repositories. Check our Repositories concept page for more details on repositories types.
If you are using Pachyderm authorization features, only authorized users will be able to delete a given pipeline. In particular, they will have to be
repoOwner of the output repo of the pipeline (i.e., have created the pipeline) or
You can use the
--keep-repo flag to preserve the output repo with all its branches. However, important job metadata will still be deleted (including all historical versions of the pipeline specification file).
As a result, you will not be able to recreate the deleted pipeline with the same name unless that repo is deleted first.
For example, if a pipeline “xyz” exists, then there is an output repo “xyz”. If a user deletes the pipeline with
--keep-repo, the output repo “xyz” will remain, but the pipeline will be gone. If the user tries to create a new pipeline called “xyz”, it will fail (there is already an output repo with that name). For the pipeline creation to be successful, the user would have to delete repo “xyz” first.
You can use the output repo of a pipeline deleted with
--keep-repo as an input repo and add more data.
When Pachyderm cannot delete a pipeline with the standard command, you might need to enforce deletion using the
--force flag. Because this option can break dependent components in your DAG, use this option withextreme caution.